Dim lighting issue and white balance?

chachilove

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I don't really know if this is the right place to post this question but
I do a lot of in studio fashion/model photographing, but I'm not a pro so my results have been somewhat less than successful. Basically my lighting setup is 4 clamp lamps without hoods and 100 watt reveal light bulbs. I don't use the built in flash on my Canon EOS Rebel XS 1000D because I think it looks cheesy so I usually use the"Av" function and set it randomly and sometimes I get lucky with a decent shot.
  • I recently got a tripod and that is really helping, but I find that when I have subjects in dark clothing the photo looks over exposed and when I have the model wear light clothing the photos are very dark, this is both on same camera settings and lighting conditions. (really confusing/frustrating me)
  • I recently bought a grey card to help me calibrate the custom white balance on my camera but I can't say that it has helped improve my white balance.
  • I also have difficulty setting my light in place so that I don't get cast/drop shadows when I want shadowless.
  • I'm considering buying softboxes to help eliminate shadows, I don't want to make something at home, it's kind of a big investment so I'm hoping someone can advise. I need something big because I don't always do shoulders up I am typically doing full body.
I hope that is a clear explanation as I don't know all technical terms to express what it is I'm trying to achieve, and its probably so basic that it seems ridiculous to ask but I am really dumbfounded so thanks for reading.

Soft boxes will definitely help reduce shadows, but any sort of diffuser placed between the light and subject will do that. You won't find speed rings that will attach to your current light fixtures, so you may want to consider just finding a way to hand large panels of translucent white fabric in front of them.