Do i have the right to be angry here

Kbarredo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I have been practicing photography for 2 years now and i love it. My work collegue decided he wants to go into professional photography. He buys a 1k sony dslr and takes an online course. He didnt even finish the course and now he has a facebook page up with some pics of his son and some pics of birds as his portfolio. Im mad that he has no experience with photoshoots other than his son and hes charging. Ive been wanting to go pro but my plan is to be a current pro's helper.Its been less than 5 months since he decided to take up photography. Im not sure if hes good enough i just dont want him to blow all his money on high end equipment and fail. I am a little jealous for his determination but im angry with his arrogance. What do you guys think

Last edited:
Anyone can charge, the question is if he can deliver.
If he can't his customers will not be pleased.
If he can it doesn't care if he did any course whatsoever.
With no experience at all I'd say it's quite possible he'll fail on a shoot sometime soon.
That's not necessarily a bad thing for him as he could learn from it.
It could be a problem if the ones he's shooting paid him and sue him afterwards because he didn't deliver...
You might want to suggest him to practice for a while first.

Anyone can charge, the question is if he can deliver.
If he can't his customers will not be pleased.
If he can it doesn't care if he did any course whatsoever.
With no experience at all I'd say it's quite possible he'll fail on a shoot sometime soon.
That's not necessarily a bad thing for him as he could learn from it.
It could be a problem if the ones he's shooting paid him and sue him afterwards because he didn't deliver...
You might want to suggest him to practice for a while first.
I told him to practice first but he thinks hes good enough. I feel kinda insulted like he doesnt take photography seriously.