Do you need a certain quality of equipment to be a professional?

Baaaark

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Lets say you have a Canon XT 350D, or a Nikon D70, and do strobist-style shots, and your whole setup was under a grand.

Does that make you less entitled to charge normal price for your work? I am mostly thinking on one hand that its about the product, not the process. But, at the same time, doesn't a photographer owe it to the person paying to use a setup which can compete with his peers and competition?

BTW, this is not about me. I have no DSLR or strobes. I just am asking a question, that's all. Besides, I wouldn't charge for my work yet, its not there.

To answer the question in your subject line: No

Being a professional is about your capabilities, not what equipment you own. I own top of the line professional gear, but I'm not embarrassed to say I'm a complete amateur.

I have worked with true pros in that they could look at the exact same subject I'm looking at and take a picture worthy of framing while what I captured from the same scene was nothing more than a snapshot.

I know a guy who owns a very successful wedding photography studio (3 offices around the Chicagoland area). He shoots with a Canon Rebel. He just recently, like 3 weeks ago, bought his very first Canon 1Ds Mark II used because the guy he bought it from was practically giving it away. He didn't know much about the camera body, nor did he really care. He's far more comfortable with his Rebel right now, and his work is quite good.

Heck, I bet Ken Rockwell could take a picture worthy of hanging in the Louvre with a Poloroid instamatic camera.

Wow you got a real hard on for Ken dont you?

Being a professional really has nothing to do with equipment. Professionals use what gets the job done. It's alot more then just f-stops and shutter speeds.

So, you're just curious, eh?'