Dumb question(or three) from a photo newb re: lens, focusing, RAW vs JPEG

ekohekoh1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have a Nikon d7000 w/ a nikon 24-85 f/2.8-4.0D IF AF zoom(whatever all that means). In the manual, it sates :
"Do not use AF lenses with the lens focus mode switch to M and the camera focus mode selector to AF. Failure to observe this precaution could damage the camera."
Does this apply to my lens? Is it an AF-S Lens or an AF lens?

Why is focal length so important? Does is come into play with all focusing or manual focusing?

I'm a complete newb, but have learned about shutter speed, aperature, ISO, amount of light, and how it affects exposure. I have been playing around with these settings (using the auto focus) but have not tried the manual focusing yet. Any words of advice to simplify things when I practice? Should I always try shoot in manual or only when the camera is having difficulty focusing? Also/ learned a little bit about JPEG vs. RAW(NEF) do you guys have a preference and for a beginner who will probably do very minor editing i.e. cropping, lighten/darken, etc... I learned that RAW has more data so you have more to work with when editing but should I just keep shooting in JPEG?

Sorry if these questions are insulting to you. Cheers in advance!:D

Focal length is the "zoom" of your lens. Here is the wikipedia for you Focal length - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Your lens is an AF lens.

When you are focusing generally most people use auto focus. There are applications for manual focus and there are people who like to manual focus, but it's HARD. You are best off using auto focus in most situations.

Here is some info on Raw and Jpeg. RAW vs. JPEG
Before you shoot in raw make sure you have the software to process it. It is not a "picture" file, it's a data file that must be "developed" in a raw processing program.