Engagement Portraits C&C

AnotherNewGuy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to professional photography, and hope to improve with the help of all of you out there. This shoot was a free shoot for engagement pictures for a couple who's wedding I am shooting in December. I have quickly found that my biggest weakness is posing them. Please provide any criticism that I may improve upon. Thank you in advance!

[1]
Engagement104.jpg

[2]
Engagement116.jpg

[3]
Engagement158.jpg

[4]
Engagement173.jpg

[5]
Engagement185.jpg

[6]
Engagement39.jpg

[7]
Engagement80.jpg

Engagement24-2.jpg

Numbers 5 and 6 are my favorite ones. Number 7 looks too out of focus and grainy like it was taken off of a security camera. (I'm just being honest). Good job overall!

I agree with your comment on number 7. To be honest, that is why I made it B&W. I had to keep it... it is the most flattering picture of the future bride.

thanks for the comment.

I would be concerned about positioning them where they are forced to squint. Several of these photos would be acceptable if the groom-to-be had his eyes open.

I would be concerned about positioning them where they are forced to squint. Several of these photos would be acceptable if the groom-to-be had his eyes open.

Couldn't agree more. He had naturally narrow eyes. The reflector (gold) was making him squint more than anything. I was just happy I could pull a few smiles out of him. Is there any advice on the squinting issue... What could I have done? Waited for dusk?

Just curious, what equipment are you using? These images almost look like they are video camera stills. If your using a DSLR which one?

D300s with a Quantaray 70-300 f/4.5

I know the glass isn't the best by any means... video camera stills?