engagement session help!

Rafal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
My sister asked me to do some engagement photos for them because they don't want to spend any money. I'm still learning and would like to do a good job for them. Unfortunatelly, I don't have any lighting equipment except what's on the camera so fill in light will be a difficult.
Would a reflector be good enough for outdoor shots? Any advice on how to organize a plan for such session? I'm thinking first scout the places for shooting and see how the sun hits it at a particular time of day...

I'm thinking first scout the places for shooting and see how the sun hits it at a particular time of day...
A very good idea.

Using a reflector is a great way to get some fill light on your subjects. They are best used with a Voice Activated Light Stand (someone to hold them). So bring a friend.

Search engagement pictures on flikr, take note of how people use their surroundings to complement the personality of the couple. A reflector will definitely help, but it's not absolutely necessary either. How much practice have you had with portraits? Scouting your locations is always a good idea. Bring someone with you and take some test shots. Get an idea of what you want to do and where and if you need to, make a shot list so you're not fumbling for something to do at the actual shoot.

I've only done one engagement shoot, and that was with (in my opinion) limited success, so I will leave it to the pros to answer to that.

Yes, get a reflector. You can get a 5-in-one 42" reflectorf from ebay for less tha $20 if you look hard enough. Should be big enough to get the job done.

Also, if you are bringing a "voice activated light stand" like Mike suggested (and I do too) make sure they understand how the reflector works before you get there. NOthing is more frustrating than trying to teach someone how to use a reflector and focus on taking paictures at the same time.