EOS or Vintage Canon ?

gat3keeper

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a pro wedding photographer but started in digital (dslr). Through the years, I've noticed that film camera may have some advantages in storing photos.

Now, I would like to try film photography and choosing the right camera is overwhelming.

I'm eyeing for Canon or Nikon due to vast availability of lenses in our area. For canon, should I get the EOS or the vintage cams ?

I don't have EOS lenses for I used Fuji for professional work

In theory ... Canon manual focus lenses should be more obtainable and cheaper as they cannot be used natively on the current Canon digital cameras ... unlike Nikon.
I think the only people grabbing Canon MF mount are mirrorless people.

Good Point there mate

Using an EOS film camera will require little learning as in most respects they are the same as EOS digital cameras. They also have the advantage of being able to use modern designs of lenses.

If you use, for example, a Canon FD mount camera, the controls are very different and the focus and aperture are manually adjusted on the lens barrel. No adjustment wheel by the shutter release.

Sent from my 8070 using Tapatalk

Yeah but here in Philippines, Canon F1 is the most expensive film camera among the following models

Nikon F3
EOS Elan
Canon AE1
Nikon 501
Nikon 801
Pentax LX , MX
etc...

My Pentax MX is a very good camera and so is my Canon EOS A2E.

Are you planing to shoot film for weddings? Because that would be different. If you want to shoot film for personal use there are good M42 mount cameras and lenses available for not much.

I would go for EOS film cams. But keep in mind, that the latest EF lenses may not run with the older EOS film cams. I.e. the latest fully electronic non L EF 70-300 mm doesn't AF with my EOS 50E, which I love for it's weight and smoothness.

Just my 2 cents
Gerhard

Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk