Epson V500 "Skipping" Over Negatives?

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by tron, Feb 20, 2012.

  1. tron

    tron TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hello:

    Well I am having some trouble scanning some negatives with my Epson V500. I took a few moon photos so the negative looks like there is a black dot in the middle of the frame. When I try to scan them using my Epson V500 the images do not show up in the "preview" screen.

    Is there any way I can force the scanner to scan the entire negative strip instead of allowing it to pick and choose what it "sees?"

    Thanks!


     
  2. Proteus617

    Proteus617 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    35
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Scan each individually selecting the neg with the marquis tool. Tweak your levels extremely in preview just so you can discern the edges of the image, then fix your levels once you have the marquis adjusted.
     
  3. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Turn off the automatic thumbnailing and do the crops yourself.
     
  4. bhop

    bhop No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    327
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Take it off auto mode..
     
  5. Derrel

    Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    48,229
    Likes Received:
    18,859
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Excellent suggestions from three posters in a row!!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. trukey

    trukey TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0


    you can Turn off the automatic thumbnailing and do the crops yourself.[​IMG]
     

Share This Page