Film Developing Question

PhotoTurtle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Can I process Kentmere 400, Kentmere 100 and Ilford 400 all together in the same developing tank?

I am fairly new to film processing (I've done it four times on my own so far) and want to continue to improve.

I am not sure if Kentmere and Ilford have the same developing times at 70 degree temps.

Also I've never used the 100 ISO, I bought the film before class started and didn't know the ISO made much of a difference.

Since the 100 ISO is more sensitive than the 400 ISO, does it have its own developing time?

Anyone have experience with these films and can give me a few tips and tricks to get the most out of my photos?

BTW so far I've developed the Kentmere and the Ilford separately. I've never processed the Kentmere 100 yet as I only have the one roll.

I've used both those films and would not process them in the same tank. I couldn't anyway, since my tank only takes two 35mm rolls at a time. But yes, the 100 ISO vs 400 ISO would have different developing times at the standard 70 degrees F for black and white. So you can do the Kentmere and Ilford 400 ISO at the same time, but do the Kentmere 100 separately.

What chemistry are you using?

As long as the development time and temperature matches you can. As for those specific films I don't know the development times and temps they need.

According to the calculations on this site: The Comprehensive Development Times Chart Kentmere 100 and Kentmere 400 in the same developer/same temp require at least a 1 minute difference in developing time with many different developers.

For Sprint Standard, Kentmere 100 needs 7:45 minutes (no push or pull, 1+9 dilution, 70 deg.F, I minute agitation.) Kentmere 400 - same conditions - requires 10:15 minutes.

As for the Ilford - is that HP5+? Pan 400? Delta 400? That will make a difference, too.