Film or digital - Which is best for a beginner?

Tinkgrrbell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I am new to photography and would like to learn a little bit more about it. I have a basic Pentax A3000 and am looking into getting some zoom lenses for it; now I know good pictures can come from that camera but will they look ok if developed and put on a disk? I'd like to upload my pictures taken with the Pentax but it seems like they might end up pixelated or only be veiwable as a 4"x6". Is this true?

If I do decided to go digital, what would be a good set up for a beginner? I'd like to keep it under $500.

Thanks very much! I appreciate everyones opinions.

Film is good because you take your time and think about the things that influence the photo a little more, Digital is good because you get instant results and can see instantly what the changes you made had on the photo.

Either is fine in my book.

So if I use the film I shouldn't be dissapointed when I have the film developed on disk? I'm really nervous about that...

I also recommend starting with film and a manual camera. Once you get a solid base foundation on exposure and figuring out how aperture and focusing difference can effect a picture, you can transfer all that knowledge to the digital world and get exactly what your wanting.

Don't worry about getting the filmed scanned to a cd. The important part is how the picture comes out.

So if I use the film I shouldn't be dissapointed when I have the film developed on disk? I'm really nervous about that...

I have never gotten film scanned. I use my schools $500,000 lab. :mrgreen:

like mentioned earlier, a digital camera is a lot easier to transfer to the computer. everything is digital these days which is why i probably wouldnt go back to a film camera. you can still get great shots though.

I recommend digital.