Film: Where do I even begin?!

digitalshutterbug

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been a digital photographer for years and have never ventured into film photography because of all the costs of processing. I mean, all I needed to buy for digital was a camera and lenses. Done; my laptop does the work from there on in. With film there's cameras, lenses, the film itself, developing, a scanner... I want to try it out but there's so much equipment involved. Where do I even begin when I'm on a budget?

Back in the olden days we didn't use scanners. The cameras are fairly affordable these days.

Start with some B&W film and D-76. Many are selling off their darkroom stuff cheap.

Last edited by a moderator:

Start with some B&W film and D-76. Many are selling off their darkroom stuff cheap.​
Maybe rather with some books ? It will be less disappointments down the road if the OP knows, what he is doing instead of shooting in the dark.

Small steps.

Identify which camera you'd like to own and your first lens from what you'd like to start shooting first.

Get a couple of rolls of inexpensive film and send it out for development to make sure that the camera works as expected.

So, what kind of camera would you like to own? Small format- 135, medium format -120 or large format -4x5 and up?

Once you've identified what size film then we can work on brands and styles.

Start with some B&W film and D-76. Many are selling off their darkroom stuff cheap.​
Maybe rather with some books ? It will be less disappointments down the road if the OP knows, what he is doing instead of shooting in the dark.

The Basic Darkroom Book by Tom Grimm #0-452-25184-2 795. A good beginner book.

Scanner, we don't need no stinking scanner...