First Actress Headshot

mattmphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, everyone!

This is my first post on this forum and I would love to get any kind of feedback on my first headshot session. I'm still very new to photography and would love to learn what to look for and what to improve on for future sessions.

The shoot was for actress headshots and done with a Rebel T5 with a 50mm 1.8 lens.

Thanks!

IMG_1142-2_pp.jpg

IMG_1115-2_pp.jpg

IMG_1092-2_pp.jpg

IMG_1081-2_pp.jpg

For your first session, not bad. A few thoughts on points for possible improvement:

1. Just because you have a fast lens, you don't need to use it wide open. I would have expected these to be shot at around 5.6 - 8; these look more like f1.8 - 2.5. Theatrical headshots are generally a fairly technical image rather than an artistic one.

2. This young lady has the most subtle eyebrows and lashes I've ever seen. A little make-up accenting would definitely have helped.

3. In the first images your lights are a bit too low. Generally speaking we are used to light coming down from above (sun, ceiling lights, etc). Catchlights should normally be around the 10.00/2.00 position.

4. She has quite a broad face, so while normally I wouldn't recommend the shooting angle used in #1, in this case it's (IMO) perfect, whereas the others tend to accentuate that feature a little more than may be desirable.

5. You missed focus totally on the last one. Bin it.

As far as what to improve upon in the future, I would suggest shooting from farther away, and then cropping-in on the images later; a 50mm lens used from such a close distance will invariably create some distortion of the relative size of the nose to the remainder of the face, ears, and head. The images would look better shot from farther away from the subject, and then cropped-in in software, to the desired framing.