First dslr - Canon or Nikon

AndrasFL

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
plus.google.com
Hey experts :)
I'm a noob.
Story short: My wife and I want to shoot some really good pictures of our 4 children.
We have already taken loads of pictures with our iphones and our not so good compact camera. But now we want to step up.
We will mostly be shooting portraits. But since we love nature and our kids do a lot of sports it would be good if the camera didn't fell short here.
Filming in hd is a must.
My eyes have settled on these two Canon t5i and Nikon 5200d. This is what we can afford at the time being.
I'm leaning towards the Canon because it is probably easier to use. Has a faster autofocus. And the kit lens is better.
Any advice is much appreciated
Thanks
Andras

Sendt fra min GT-I9100 med Tapatalk

Flip a coin, you can't go wrong with either brand...The reason why I picked Nikon is 2 of my friends shoots Nikon so I can barrow lenses from them.

I have used both. Nikon is superior in my opinion. As a beginner, I think you will find the ergonomics of the Nikon to be much friendlier.

Whichever one feels more comfortable in your hands.

One of my friends uses Canon. So perhaps I can exchange lenses with him.
Good point.

Hey experts :)
I'm a noob.

That's ok, we can get you a prescription. A couple of weeks and it will clear right up.. lol

Story short: My wife and I want to shoot some really good pictures of our 4 children.
We have already taken loads of pictures with our iphones and our not so good compact camera. But now we want to step up.
We will mostly be shooting portraits. But since we love nature and our kids do a lot of sports it would be good if the camera didn't fell short here.
Filming in hd is a must.
My eyes have settled on these two Canon t5i and Nikon 5200d. This is what we can afford at the time being.
I'm leaning towards the Canon because it is probably easier to use. Has a faster autofocus. And the kit lens is better.
Any advice is much appreciated