First DSLR Purchase

Venetian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Complete newbie here. I've always used "point & shoots" and just recently gotten into DSLR's. I've been researching online for months and want to finally purchase my first one.

I'm a family man on a single income so money is a huge factor. I'm also, like I mentioned, a complete beginner so I think entry-level cameras are all I need to look at. Right now I'm seriously considering either the D3000 or D5000. I have 2 small children and I'll be shooting mostly family photos...of vacations and such. Just trying to capture memories. I'll probably keep the same camera body for several years (maybe 3 or more).

Just wondering if the D3000 is likely to be enough camera for me, or if the extra money on the D5000 would be a better investment. The less I can spend the better, but I don't want to regret buying something 1 year down the road.

Thanks for any help guys! Also, nice forum. :lol:

Check out this nice Nikon D40 package on adorama. It comes with a memory card and a little case for $439. You can also use bing to get 10% cashback (Takes 60 days but thats still 40 dollars)

INKD40KG Nikon D40 Digital Camera/ Lens Kit w/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II AF-S DX Lens, Sandisk Ultra 4GB SD Memory Card, Nikon SLR system gadget bag And Nikon "Fast, Fun & Easy" DVD

Check out www.kenrockwell.com and check out his review on the D3000 and then the D40. He seems biased towards the D40 a lot of the time but what he writes in the reviews make sense.

Check out www.kenrockwell.com and check out his review on the D3000 and then the D40. He seems biased towards the D40 a lot of the time but what he writes in the reviews make sense.

Before you do too much reading there, read the "about" section. It really puts some of his stuff in perspective. As long as you have a sense of humor, and know a joke when you see it - he has a pretty good site.