first photo shoot (for fun)

teneighty23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been photographing landscapes for a few years now but decided i should expand to people too and a friend wanted some shots done with some of her pals so i said i would, i have no command skill at all since i came from landscape so it started out very tough, but here are some of my personal favorites, any advice?
IMG_18541.jpg

IMG_1848-1.jpg

IMG_1870.jpg

IMG_1780.jpg

IMG_18602.jpg

IMG_17441.jpg

IMG_1701.jpg

IMG_1708.jpg

IMG_1730.jpg

For people shots, especially of the female gender:blushing:I think you would be better off with much less contrast.

I respectfully disagree. The first, and the others with the single subject are exceptionally good. The some what harsh lighting and the contrast are expressive emotionally and fit the mood- sort of melancholy- very well. Thet look very much like press or PR shots from the Speed Graphic/ flash bulb days and I think that they would sell well.
I am not as fond of the others. the poseing seems stilted or awkward and just off some how,
JMHO
Judge Sharpe

Lots of photos. Hard to offer much critique with that many, but the first one I think is the clear winner. Tones are pretty good, it's got a nice gritty feel, some motion going on with the hair and decent exposure that works with the photograph. The expression is very nice and it uses a pose where the subject isn't looking at the camera very well. (I like the fact she's not looking up into very much negative space in the image... usually that's the "rule" but this plays against it quite nicely and allows the viewer to say 'what is she thinking?' instead of 'what is she looking at?')