First post and critique needed. D:

postalkitty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello guys and gals. Here is a little intro for you before I get into the needed photo critiques. My name's Melody and I am a long time beginner photographer. :) I've been dealing with photos since you had to dip them in the baths and then pencil in the little dust spots that left blank spaces on the damn paper. Unfortunately, that was years ago and I only did it for a short time before I took a break and now I am back at square one, but now with digital photography.

I've just decided to take it back up due to a friend handing over his digital SLR at a show and I have come back to the world of freezing time. So please pardon my lack of knowledge on most things. I've been scouring the camera operation manual while I take pics and experiment.

So. Here we go. Not my first shoot, but one a bit different in what I am typically used to. No studio lighting was used, but heavy duty stage lighting and such.

The only editing made is via cropping and of course the copyright on the edge. I took all photos in raw and converted it into JPEG, so any suggestions for image editing will be much easier to make.

411.jpg

383.jpg

378-1.jpg

183.jpg

178.jpg

Thank you,
<3

Focus focus focus!
The first 3 are not in focus.

The fourth one isn't bad, a bit too much dead space over his head.

The last one kind of looks like he's getting a BJ.

Getting the focus right at those points were a little hard for me since I did it off Tv and auto while setting it extremely low. Or at least that's what I got out of the little test. I guess I should have said **** auto and went straight to manual, huh. Need more practice in low light.

Also, lol at the BJ comment.

:D

Get a tripod for set up shots like this in low light, I really like the concept, just work on the execution and you'll have some pretty cool pictures!