First time shooting a band, can I charge?

DrumsOfGrohl

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,
I wouldn't call me an aspiring professional. Really, I'm a beginner, but I thought this might still be a good place to pose this question.

I've never shot a band before, so these are my first photos doing that. Do I have any business asking the band if they'd be interested in purchasing the photos? I don't really feel like charging them, but I don't want to devalue my work. I met them after their show, and actually, they really enjoyed my band (we played on the same stage after them), and I imagine I'll be seeing them again. I was thinking of giving them a small version of the photos, or maybe putting a watermark on the photos, and then if they wanted larger versions without a watermark, I could charge them (a minimal price). I've never sold a photo before, so that's also factoring in to my thought process.

Any help you guys could give would be lovely. If I do charge them, what price range should I charge?

For reference, here are some of the shots I took.

IMG_2664-2.jpg IMG_2661-2.jpg IMG_2667-2.jpg IMG_2694-2.jpg IMG_2698-2.jpg

Thanks.

If someone will buy them, then sell them.
Personally I wouldn't want any of them although the one bottom left may be a keep'able snapshot for them. They are all way too dark and from a bad angle to be a good set in my opinion.

You don't GIVE them the photos. You SHOW them some of your photos if you choose to do so. You should first start building a portfolio to eventually be able to show. That should be your best of a number of concerts etc. that you've photographed.

Before you go any further with thinking about selling photos, learn how to license usage of your photos. Get on American Society of Media Photographers or PPA and learn how to do this. Read up on contracts and releases, etc. etc. otherwise you might be kicking yourself down the road.