First time SLR buyer - Canon + Lenses?

K8-90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey

I am planning on taking my photography to a new level by investing in a digital SLR, but need some help making the right choices on gear!

I have been looking at the Canon Rebel XTi or now the XSi. They seem to offer a good foundation at a reasonable price. I considered the 40D, but I think that is more than I am looking for. I also need to consider cost.

However, the whole point of SLRs is interchangeable lenses, and I don't know where to start! I am budgeting $1000 towards 2 lenses and a tripod - is that reasonable? I would like an 'all-purpose' zoom with some kind of image stablization (preferably slightly wide angle) and a telephoto, reaching arround 200mm.

I tend to photograph nature and landscapes, as well as a considerable amount of animal/equine photography.

Any lens suggestions, or other comments? I'm new to this, so please take it easy on me :D

Thanks!

If you are big into landscapes I would invest in a fisheye or wide angle lens, I personally do not do much landscape so I would feel wrong suggesting for something I do not even do.

You can find a 30D with a Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM on B and H for $999.95, which is a good deal. The lens is nice and the body is a grate body. http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/484818-REG/Canon_1234B105_EOS_30D_Digital_Camera.html

I would, and also recommend to everyone I know, that they invest in a 70-200mm 2.8L, with or without IS. I have one without IS because I am a cheapo. They run around $1,140.99 http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/91680-USA/Canon_2569A004_70_200mm_f_2_8L_USM_Autofocus.html

I got mine for $975 used on eBay, which was a AMAZING deal. You get a nice body and two very good lenses with that setup. Once again, I am not into landscapes and all, I am just giving you a idea of what you can get and such. I do more sports pictures.

OK, thanks!