Focus to infinity question

stp84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So this may sound like a very dumb question, but I'm new to photography and cannot seem to find an answer to this. I keep reading different techniques in photography that require you to focus to infinity. Can someone explain in detail what this means, and also how do I do it on my lens? I have been using the Nikkor 18-105mm and the manual focus ring does not have an infinity symbol or any numbers... am I missing something here?

You are correct ... it appears that some newer lenses do not have focus distance markings on them.

I am not sure what you mean by techniques that focus to infinity.
Are you referring to hyper-focal distance.

If you don't have a distance scale on you lens, the best thing I can think of is to move the focus ring as far as it will go (in the direction that focuses on distant objects), and then back it off slightly.

That should be pretty close to infinity.

...Much easier if your lenses have distance markings.

Last edited:
If you don't have a distance scale on you lens, the best thing I can think of is to move the focus ring as far as it will go (in the direction that focuses on distant objects), and then back it off slightly.

Just out of curiosity, why back it off a little bit? All my lenses have distance scales on them, I'm just curious, as on my lenses, infinty is literally at the very end of the turn, not slightly away from it.

You are correct ... it appears that some newer lenses do not have focus distance markings on them.

I am not sure what you mean by techniques that focus to infinity.
Are you referring to hyper-focal distance.