Getting sharp focus in manual modes?

SquarePeg

hear me roar
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Need some direction please. When shooting in M, A, S modes, using the auto focus, I can't seem to get any of my shots sharply focused. If I use an auto setting, the shots are nice and sharp. I thought it might be the Tamron lens I was using (no VR)' so I switched it up and today i used my Nikon 55-200 that came with my D60. But I got similar results. Auto mode produced sharply focused pics. I immediately switched to A priority mode (5.6) and same shot is fuzzy when I zoom in on the view screen. I'm new to using any of the manual settings and would appreciate any advice/input.

What am i doing wrong? Should I be using manual focus when in manual mode? I struggle with focusing manually because I cant wear my reading glasses when I'm moving around... I wasn't using a tripod so I stuck to fast shutter speeds.

TIA

Are you sure it's out of focus, and not motion blur or camera shake?

Post an example of one of the bad ones.

Thanks for your reply. I will post an example as soon as I get home. On my iPad right now and can't access. If it was motion blur why would it only be on the non auto shots? Does auto mode eliminate that? Sorry for my ignorance on this.

It could just be that the auto mode was selecting more appropriate settings for the scene (if that's what the problem actually is).

Auto mode is also likely using a higher ISO than the other modes too - so that would allow it to use a smaller aperture and a shorter shutter speed.

Looked at the specs for two of the auto vs manual shots. Both have ISO 200 but Apertures and shutter speeds were diff. Auto used f/8 and 1/400 where A mode i had used f18 and it selected 1/60. So it is probably camera shake? I thought I had shot that at f11... At what shutter speed is a tripod absolutely needed? I'll post the examples shortly.