Glacier National Park trip, need suggestions on equipment.

sambrody44

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First of all let me introduce myself. My name is Sam as you could probably guess by my user name. I got my camera as a Graduation present and I'm still a beginner with only a couple months of experience.

So I'm going on this trip and would love to bring my camera (Canon Rebel XTi) with me. I would like to get a new back pack thats small enough to hike with that I could still tote my camera gear and some other hiking gear with me in. So I would like to know what you guys think is a bag that would meet that criteria.

I am also looking into purchasing a new lens for this trip. Right now I have the kit lens my camera came with a 18-55 f/5.6. I'm looking into the Canon 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III EF Lens for more zoom in shooting wildlife and the such.

I would also like to know if there are any other suggestions for accessories you think I should get for the trip, filters or hoods etc.

Thanks in advanced,
Sam

Get a circular polarizer or a graduated neutral density filter. You will have the opportunity to get some amazing lanscape shots. Get a cheapy tripod too if funds are too limited. Or a monopod since it sounds like you may be hiking. I envy you for this trip. The graduated ND filter will allow you to get a more proper exposure of both sky and ground in your landscape shots and the polarizer will help with water reflections..etc. Be sure and shoot some landscapes at your widest end of the lens. If possible, borrow or rent an ultra-wide for the trip.

Derrick

Welcome aboard Sam, I've moved this into a better section for you.

I've found that a lot of 'camera' backpacks are good for toting camera gear but not a whole lot of other stuff. Some have good compartments for regular stuff but then don't leave you a lot of room for photo gear....but that might be OK as it doesn't sound like you have too much gear...not yet anyway.