Headshots

zamanakhan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
A friend of mine has asked me to do portraits for her, she needs head shots. Being a student she thinks the price for head shots offered through her school are high at 400-500. I've offered to do them for free BUT i've told her they might not be the best, i've never done headshots before, i've done product photography professionally and two weddings and a half (they hired a pro alongside.) worse case scenario she gets a few nice pics and she can still get head shots done through her school. I looked at exactly what she needs and other headshots that have been done by the same people, to be honest they are very bland, nothing special. Just a colored background slightly tilted head and flat lighting.

I believe i have the proper equipment to do all this: 2 sb-600's and a sb-700 and a d7000 with either a 50 1.8 or 80-200 (i am prob going to use CLS with i-ttl, or manual, i do have flash triggers if it comes to it) i've been thinking about having a sb600 on a lightstand with umbrella infront of her to her right pointing down classic 45deg and another behind her facing a wall and the sb700 behind her head for a subtle hair light. I also plan on having a reflector on the left hand side for some fill.

My problems so far: in my mind this looks like a fool proof idea but what is concerning me right now is poses, i havent found any decent literature online on poses. Any samples or ideas would be great!! Ive been thinking of doing this in he evening and using a bit of ambient light but not to a distracting point.

Any advice on poses or light setups with the equipment i have would be great. I dont have many light modifiers, basically i have a reflector a shoot through umbrella, a grid and a snoot. I do have colored gels as well.

Poses
The Rules Of Good Portraiture