help get me set up - Canon Rebel & accessories

Hannah2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've had a Canon Digital Rebel XT for a while, and I'm just beginning to use all the settings - totally love it! We may be handing it down and getting a new one soon. I probably have about $1200 to spend on body & lenses (that's pushing it).

I do mostly face shots indoor. I need wide aperture (both for shallow DOF and low light), good bokeh, and fast AF.

My main question, if you don't have time to read the rest, is whether the Canon 85mm f/1.8 lens is compatible with the T1i. ??

If you have time for the rest, I'd love input!

- Body -
My husband wants to stick with a Rebel. I'm considering the T1i, because the T2i seems like overkill. If I got that good, wouldn't I want to upgrade to a professional camera anyway? I can't see how I'd ever need more than 15 MP, and I'd use the video minimally. But maybe there's something I'll wish I had. It's only $100 more...

- Kit Lens -
I currently have the 18-55mm lens that came with the Rebel XT. I'll hand that down with the camera. I'll probably go with another 18-55mm again, unless I'm talked out of it.

- Portrait Lens -
After looking at lots of example photos, I'm considering the 85mm f/1.8. Everyone says how far back you have to stand, but then they say 6 ft. *shrug* Is it really inconvenient to use indoors? I'd go with the 50mm f/1.4, but I consistently like the 85mm shots. And I don't think I'd use anything wider than f/2.0.

- External Flash (to buy later) -
I have no idea what I want, so I'm all ears. If I go with something cheap, I might be able to buy it now, in time for Christmas shots. :D But if more expensive is better, I'll save for a few months. (Have to negotiate with hubby.) I'm mostly doing indoor face shots.

- Extension Tube (to buy later) -
Eventually I just want to experiment with macro. Cheap is good, as long as it's effective.