HELP: Vivitar 2800D Flash (Possibly broken?)

giveHOPEmakeCHANGE

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi All! I'm new to this (forums in general) and need some help with my flash.

So I do not own a camera (since I can't afford one) but I usually use my friend's T1i with 17-55mm f/2.8. In low-lighting situations (like weddings) I usually use my flash to take better pictures. However, I was using my other friend's T2i and T3i the other day but my flash didn't work. I noticed that there was a crack on the plastic part (as seen on the pictures) but I do not know if that is the reason why my flash isn't working? I haven't tested it on the T1i yet but I would like to ask you all if the crack is the reason why my flash isn't working.

2wp2puh.jpg

11uxef8.jpg

I am assuming that you have checked the batteries? I see that you have posted this in the Lighting and Hardware forum. You will probably get more answers there than you will here.

WesternGuy

Yes, I did check the batteries. It turns on too. But when I attach it to the T2i and T3i, the flash doesn't work. It doesn't flash but it's on.

Yes.. very difficult.

The diffuser on those flashes are pretty durable... my guess is that if an impact was hard enough to crack it, it is possible that damage was also done to the tube inside. Can you hear the capacitor inside with a fresh set of batteries?

Sounds like the flash tube got blown whenever it got dropped to get the crack in it. Or something very similar like a wire being jarred out of place, etc...

Chances are, you can't. If the flash tube is gone (and that seems likely) than the only way to replace it is to get a new flash tube which may be a challenge. If you have some basic electronic knowledge and a multimeter, you can take it apart and probably localize the trouble fairly quickly, otherwise, hit Craig's List for a replacement.