Help with problematic shoot!

Bobby Gill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey!

So I'm an amateur photographer, used to shooting landscapes and nature... but I've recently been persuaded by some friends of mine to shoot them for the back cover of their bands new release on vinyl.

We only have a very short window of opportunity to get it done, so will be shooting outside, in the park, in the dark.. Possibly under tungsten street light...

I have a 5Dmk2, tripod and two YN560s to play with.. luckily they want it in black and white, so colour temperature mismatch shouldn't be an issue... I haven't got any reflectors - only two diffusers, but I might invest if you think its worthwhile..

My fear is blowing them out, and losing all of the background... maybe I will fire one flash at them, with the other lighting the background? or getting them to stay very still..... i guess, and doing long exposures?

I haven't done HDR before.. am I able to just do bracketed exposures and layer them in lightroom?

Any advice at all on how to get the most out of this lighting situation, and also, the process of publishing for print, would be very much appreciated!

Persuaded by friends... short window of opportunity - sounds like a double whammy for an amateur photographer who does landscapes (in the park in the dark, make that a triple). I think the best thing to do might be to tell the friends that you don't (yet) have the expertise or equipment to do this, and they need to hire a pro photographer if they want professional quality photos for their album.

Best I can suggest is get to the location and do test shots.

Run Forrest! Run!

No doubt. You need to go to the location in advance and do test shots to determine exposures (subjects and background) and lighting ratios (subject to background).