Hi from Nebraska

crazyjimmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi every one just found this forum looks very interesting, I am a newbie with a Nikon D40x with a nikkor 18-55 af-s 1.35-5.6g ed lens and a nikkor 55-200 af-s 1:4-5.6g ed lens and a nikkor-h 1:3.5 28mm lens and a nikkor 100-300 1:5.6 lens and a vivitar 285 flash. It looks like I can learn alot here so I am looking forward to learning with you people

Jim

Jimmy,

Your being new to TPF, maybe somewhat new to photography, you wouldn't know, as many more experienced people here don't even seem to know about this.

Your Vivitar 285 is an old film era flash...

Your Nikon D40X is a modern digital camera, essentially a computer with a lens.

Some of the older flash heads are not compatible with DSLR's due to their excessive trigger voltages, and when used on camera, can potentially fry the circuits in your camera body. I am not saying it will, just saying it could. Why risk doing such damage to your DSLR if there is any doubt at all ???

There is a website (see link below), listing by flash Mfg and Model #, and stating whether they are or are not deemed as being compatible or not.

Your Vivitar 285 is considered to be NOT SAFE for use on a DSLR. I would strongly recommend your not using it for fear of potential damage to your camera.

Might be better to use that flash ONLY off camera, or to sell it and get something that is compatible with your camera.

Not meaning to be a busybody, just want for you to keep your DSLR working properly for many rewarding years of photography.

I can refer you to a very inexpensive flash that will do a good job for you, and is deemed safe according to that list.

Just FYI - here is a link to that website I refer to.

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

Welcome to TPF, and,

Happy shooting!