How much did you charge for your very first photo shoot

topazsol

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Technically I am not a professional yet because I have never been paid to do a photo shoot. But I got my very 1st customer. She wants me to photograph her sister's wedding reception. I vowed to never do weddings but this is just the reception a week after the wedding and I am told it is very casual, more of a family get together. A friend of mine asked me to do it and I agreed. I told her $50 for however many edited photos on a disc. I am going to take a lot of photos and I'll just put the ones I like the most on a disc. I know this price is very low but I am so new to photography still, I got my camera in May and since then I have been taking non stop photos, getting steadily better. I just want to finally go ahead and do it.

Did you charge way more than this for your 1st shoot? How much did you charge and what did it include?

I charged nothing until I was confident enough in my skills to warrant charging. Less legal trouble that way. You can say "I'm still in the learning process, but after the images are delivered, I will accept tips or donations."

Topazsol this is a fine start off price. I charged $35 for my first family photo shoot on the grounds I was just getting started and my equipment was basic i.e. cheap to begin with so if the photographs did not turn out perfect then the complaints would be minimal at best. (you get what you pay for) But as it turned out I was better than I gave myself credit for and the family gladly paid $35 for 1 11x10, 8x11 , 6 wallets and a few hours time shoot.

Again I think your price for your maiden shoot is more than appropriate and fair.

Artook

I charged nothing until I was confident enough in my skills to warrant charging. Less legal trouble that way. You can say "I'm still in the learning process, but after the images are delivered, I will accept tips or donations."