how to choose a lens

Greg Oden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i dont understand what a lens does by just reading the numbers on it. i feel like an idiot. any info or suggestions on where i could get some good literature on it. im just not sure what type of picture or distance each lens is for. if their is a book that is good for beginers that would help as well. im very new to the sport.

understanding exposure is a great book for beginners...i highly suggest it

Huge topic... here's a quick and dirty: There are two main categories of lenses, prime lenses and zoom lenses. Prime lenses have a fixed focal length, eg 50mm; that is, they cannot change their field of view, and to get more or less area in the picture you have to physically move the camera. Zoom lenses, through a rather more complicated optical process cover a range of focal lengths in one lens, eg 70mm-300.

They can also be subdivided based on their focal length. In the days of film, a 50mm lens was considered a 'normal' lens, that is, it most closely approximated what was seen by the human eye. Because most DSLRs have sensors smaller than a 35mm film negative, there's a magnification factor, and on most DSLRs, a 35mm lens would be considered normal. Anything above 'normal' is generally regarded as a telephoto lens, whether zoom or prime, and anything below is regarded as a wide-angle lens. Those which cover the 'normal' range are sometimes referred to as 'normal' or 'mid-range' zooms.

Therefore, a 70-300mm lens would be a telephoto zoom, and a 12-24mm would be a wide-angle zoom. A 28mm prime lens would be considered wide-angle and a 105mm prime would be considered telephoto. Typically wide angle lenses go as low as about 10mm (VERY wide) and telephotos up to about 400mm (high magnification). T