fwellers

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.fwellers.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I just got my first dslr yesterday, a Nikon D90. After much research, and a month or two of pouring over this and other forums, I know enough to fit into a thimble.
Been reading the manual all night and half the morning, and finally started trying some pics. Haven't even stored any on my pc yet. I just installed the Viewnx and capture nx2, but haven't used them yet.

I just say that as a preview so you know you're dealing with a rank beginner here.

Anyway, for my first of many questions. I've tried to take a pic of objects and get a bokeh ( or any blurring of the backround ), by opening up the aperture all the way, which is 3.5 on the 18-105mm kit lens that came with it. I used Aperture priority mode. But no matter how I focus on the subject, I still get the backround in focus also.
This is in my house, with about 10 feet or so of a backround.

is this because I'm not doing something I should be doing or is it because I just need a faster lens. Is it just impossible to get the bokeh effect at 3.5 aperture ?

Thank you,
Floyd

If you have a fast lens, it is easier. But I think you can still do it with your current lens.

In order to create a shadow depth of field, aperture is one thing. But the distance between the camera and the object as well as distance between the object and the background are also important.

If you set your lens focal length as 100mm and aperture as F/5.6
The distance between the object and your camera is about 5 feet.

The depth of field is going to be 0.16 feet. In other words, anything within that 0.16 feet is going to be in focus. Anything outside this range is out of focus. And if the background is far away from this range, it is going to be blurry.

Example, this photo was taken at St. Louis Zoo with aperture set as F/5.6 and focal length of 210mm.

2998636475_096a549319_o.jpg