How to handle..?

lc1102002

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys. Ive been shooting portraits semi-professionally for about 18 months. Im still learning how to price my sessions. I typically offer a basic 1 hour portrait session for $125. Mini Sessions for $75.

Ive always been so grateful for the business that Ive been lax with some of the rules but am finding that more and more people try to stretch what they can get in an hours' time.

I can use some guidance. If I book a 1 back to school hour portrait session for 3 children but then mom wants 'a few' extra shots that include her and her husband or wants several individual shots of 1 child in a different outfit for submission to a modeling agency how should i handle that? It often takes time away from the original planned session. I either wind up feeling unprepared and rushed OR taken a little taken advantage of. In some cases the client will book for 1 type of session then at the end of the conversation will throw in a 'oh if theres time i'd like to get just one shot of the kids for christmas'.

Is it wrong for me to object? Is it ok to tack on an additional 'sitting' fee?
please advise. thanks

First and foremost: Are you doing a pre-shoot consult with these people? Do you discuss what will take place, what they want, what they expect, what you provide, etc? If not, you need to start. Right. Now. If you are, and they're departing from that, then yes, by all means, my response would be: "Certainly Mrs Jones, I'll be happy to add a supplementary session. That shouldn't take more than an extra half-hour, which would normally be $XX, but I'd be pleased to offer you a <insert value - somewhere in the 10-15% range) discount and do for only $YY".