How to shoot macro with a D7000

MySingleReflex

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so...i'm somewhat of a noob. i've been shooting for about 2 years, but just got this d7000 in july. i haven't had as much time lately to shoot, and when i have, i've been a little pressed for time.

i'm leaving for NYC at the end of sept for 8 days of nothing to do but shoot pictures. i feel like i've got a handle on most of what i can do except for macro shooting. i don't know how to set the camera to shoot in macro mode and i don't know if i have the appropriate lenses to shoot with. i currently have a nikkor 50mm 1.8, a nikkor 55-200, and a sigma 18-55mm lens that came on my d70.

i've been out a couple of times and thought i had some good opportunities to get really close on my subject, but i couldn't get focused at close range.

i looked for a video on youtube that might explain it, but there didn't seem to be anything...so i thought i'd join here and see what some pros might have to offer. :)

thanks in advance...

Manual mode if using a flash. Aperture Priority for Ambient Light. And you don't have a Macro lens... so I am not surprised that you can't focus at close ranges. True macro lenses will magnify to 1:1 or lifesize... and allow focusing at several inches (depending on the lens). If any of your lenses has Macro on it, it may allow closer than normal focusing, but most non-Macro "macro" lenses are only 1:2 or 1:3.. not 1:1!

thanks, charlie. do you have a recommendation for a first macro lens?

thanks, charlie. do you have a recommendation for a first macro lens?