How to start??

daya007magic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello guys,

I have bought new Nikon d5100 with 18-55 and additional lens 55-300. I'm new to DSLR and would like to learn some basic things on how to start with it. How do I start with??

Please help me guys.
Comments are highly appreciated.

The single most important thing that you can do (and 99% of new camera owners DON'T do) is read and understand your camera's manual!

Your camera came with a Quick Start quide, and the entire user's manual is a PDF file on the disc that came with the camera. You'll need to read both and it's advisable to keep the complete user's manual PDF handy.

You can learn about basic digital photography concepts and terminology here - Learn Photography Concepts

For some of the basic artistic aspects of doing photography look here - 10 Top Photography Composition Rules | Photography Mad

Thanks tirediron and KMH.
I will go through the manual once I get my delivery. But I heard manual is too long to go through, hence people avoid it and start using it directly.

I love photography, so I ordered DSLR. Previously I used to use digital camera. Sony cybershot.

i have a cannon and read the whole manual it is not that long I read my the 1st day in about 1.5 hrs I had to look up words so if you know the terms it is a short read I keep it with me in my gear bag all the time for ref.

Hello guys,

I have bought new Nikon d5100 with 18-55 and additional lens 55-300. I'm new to DSLR and would like to learn some basic things on how to start with it. How do I start with??

Please help me guys.
Comments are highly appreciated.

I bought EXACTLY the same package except I am guessing your 55-300 is manual not auto focus(I needed that because my long visiion is crap and manual focus would not work for me - I need the auto!).

I have only really gotten serious in the last couple weeks although I have played around with it on and off for awhile.