how wide for interior

budskiphotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
so one of my automotive clients is trying to sell his house and isnt happy with the photos that his realitor took so he gave me a call. This is my first time trying this and I know a wide angle lens is a must, but how wide?

12/14/20 mm is good but it really depends on the lens and how much distortion it has. Being inside you'll need fast too so $700 and up should get you a decent lens.

The best lens to use is a tilt/shift lens. They run about $2000.

Sigma 10-20mm on a crop body does pretty well for inside.

@KmH - I wouldn't say you need fast glass because nothing is moving, and tripods are cheaper than fast lenses.

I second the Sigma 10-20mm I am a Realtor and its great for interior shots, however thats not the reason I bought the lens

I dont have the Sigma 10-20mm, but I have a friend who loves his. Very wide and sharp.

I would imagine that indoor shots would have no problems using a tripod, so I dont think that speed is a necessary feature?

Also, you wouldn't really want to go using a fast lens wide open to show off an interior anyway...

I second the Sigma 10-20mm I am a Realtor and its great for interior shots, however thats not the reason I bought the lens

Hmm got to thinking, I could write this lens off on my taxes!! I just need to edit my reasoning of use.

Agree with the speed question. Not necessarily agree with the super wide angle lens for RE photos.

First I would want to see the disappointing shots and know why they are so. Yes, wide angles show more of a room in one shot but they also make the rooms totally different from reality. Before I went and bought a lens I would want to know exactly what the problem is.

First I would want to see the disappointing shots and know why they are so.