How would I achieve this "look" in a photograph?

daggertrepe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, so there is this shoot I'm basing my next one off of (I'm still a rookie yet), and the pictures I'm basing it off of are these:

http://i.models.com/i/db/2010/8/27376/27376-800w.jpg

AND

http://www.thequietfront.com/storage/qf-51-100/qf-57/Dree_Hemingway-Hannah_Holman-Boo_George.jpg

Credit: Boo George.

Obviously, I'm not going to be able to get that exact effect with the equipment I have, compared to a professional. I have a Nikon D5100 and an 85mm lens. My question is, with these tools (and any others you think might be helpful, including light source, etc), how can I achieve a similar look?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
isn't a d5100 a Dslr? I'm sure someone here can help you but you might find an answer faster in the beginners forum or equipment section.

OK - I am a complete NOOB as well - but.. They look like they were underexposed - with a high ISO setting - then probably a lot of photoshop work. Hey you Pro's, am I close?

This is a FILM photo forum. The first step in solving your problem is finding the correct forum to post it.

Ok, so there is this shoot I'm basing my next one off of (I'm still a rookie yet), and the pictures I'm basing it off of are these:

Obviously, I'm not going to be able to get that exact effect with the equipment I have, compared to a professional. I have a Nikon D5100 and an 85mm lens. My question is, with these tools (and any others you think might be helpful, including light source, etc), how can I achieve a similar look?

Thanks!
First thing, these were obviously shot on film. If you want this look, get a 35mm camera, and shoot a B&W film that just crushes blacks, like Kodak's BW400CN or Ilford's XP2.

Last edited by a moderator:
Funny. Spend lotsa bucks on a DSLR and then ask "How do I get that film look?" :lol: