I want to buy a dSLR+lens for outdoor portraits - equipment advice please

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I've always been interested in photography and have used dSLRs but never owned one. I'd like to buy one for a very specific primary purpose: To shoot outdoor portraits with models in daylight. I'd like recommendation on an affordable setup for this. This is a purely amateur endeavor.

So far I am looking at buying the body of a Nikon D5100, a 50mm or 85mm lens, and a good general purpose lens. Or would a telephoto lens be adequate for general purpose and portraits? I understand the lens that comes with the body isn't particularly good. Is this true? Feel free to make equipment suggestions. I'd like an affordable setup (under $1,000). I understand the lens is the most important piece.

I would also appreciate recommendations on books or guides to read about shooting models outdoors.

Thanks!

I'm only a newbie, but from what I could gather, you have figured it already out quite nicely.

You can get the D5100 (a) without lens (b) with 18-55mm [3x zoom] (c) with 18-110mm [6x zoom].

Personally I choose the 18-55mm because its a nice lightweight general purpose lens for pretty much anything. In certain configuration it apparently even can "compete with the best of them", I read yesterday from some poster here (specifically 24-50mm and on higher f-numbers).

In your shoes I would get the D5100 with 18-55mm VR DX as kit, and the 85mm VR DX as portrait lens.