IM FUMING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

manda

instigator of pottymouthedness
Reaction score
Website
www.lyptonvillage.org
Let me just relay what I just wrote on my blog...

Recently I went to a very laid back gig where cameras were allowed.
Well I say they were allowed because there were no signs, no announcements and lots of people were taking pics and the security said nothing.
I took some good shots and I discovered that the band had fan shots on their website, so I STUPIDLY sent them an email with the shots which I liked.
Today I received an email telling me that they were good shots however I had no right to take them without the band's permission, that I should have gotten a press pass before the show(like Im a photographer!) and should have asked if i could use them on my humble hobby website which 40 regular nobodies visit.

I have been told that the band request that I remove certain photographs!
I have done as they asked but I am outraged.
If the band had signs around, had announcements and security taking our cameras away, then fair enough. But there were many fans taking pics, it was a very laid back show, I had my camera sitting on the stage to get a shot of their feet for goodness sake! So its not as if they didnt know I was there, along with the other dozens of fans taking photos.

Do these people think that we are all out to make a quick buck off of their name or something? I took some photos of a gig that I was blown away by, to remember it and share with my friends who visit my webpage, and now I just have a VERY bad taste in my mouth about the whole thing as though I've been accused of trying to make profit from someone else's name, when that was the last thing on my mind.

Has anything like this ever happened to anyone?
IM so upset about the whole thing.

Do they have the link to your site? I say screw them. They didnt have anything posted. And there were other people taking pictures. If they wana be that anal about it tell them to post signs next time.