Integrated Walking Pole + Tripod - 4th Year University Project Participation

James McKernan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys,

First post on the forums and I'm hoping to get a positive reception. I am a 4th year university student studying product design and I am currently doing my final year project. For this project I have to design a complete product of my own conception and right now I am at the research stage. The product I am creating is very much a legitimate design and the research is the key to its fruition.

So what is this product I speak of? Well, I wouldn't be posting on this forum without good reason. The product I am designing is a combination of a trekking pole, for hiking/hillwalking/skiing/any activity involving walking poles, with that of a camera tripod.

I'm posting on this forum to get some feedback from the genuine people in my target market. I would really, really appreciate if you could take the time to fill out my research survey, it should only take a few minutes and hopefully shouldn't bore you. This survey will go a long way to helping me establish the specifications of my product and the requirements and needs of the user. There is a more detailed description of the product and the idea behind it on the survey.

Survey here

Thank you very, very much for taking the time and please, if you have any comments, questions or wish to share an opinion do not hesitate, everything helps.

I think it's been done.

I think it's been done.
Not properly or very effectively. There are walking pole monopods out there and a few simplified tripods however these aren't particularly useful as it is only bottom quarter of the pole which contains legs and these are not even adjustable. I am trying to blend the functionality of both products without compromising on the ability of either.

Honestly I'd have to see some CAD rendering or prototypes to know how I'd feel about it.