Is shared online "published"?

NGH

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.carrotroom.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm have been looking into registering my images for copyright and I understand that there are a couple of options in regards to whether they are 'Published' or 'Unpublished'. It seems to be a grey area whether sharing online is considered as Published.

I'm still looking into this but so far I've seen the the US copyright office is reluctant to comment on this point.

So what is the opinion here? If some of my pictures were shared on Facebook and Instagram should I register them as Published or Unpublished?

Or has there been a precedent that covers this recently?

I'm no expert in the law or copyright and these will differ from country to country I should think. However, I'd not consider something shared on social media as published in the true or legal sense. I may be wrong of course.

A lot of courts are starting to treat stuff shared online as published, so I'd say treat it as published.

There's been a rising number cases of facebook/instagram/twitter posts geting people in hot bother when they thought they'ed been having a conversation but wound up in court and the judges have treated it the same as traditional print media.

Just be aware as soon as you post images on line, there is a chance that they can be copied

I'm have been looking into registering my images for copyright and I understand that there are a couple of options in regards to whether they are 'Published' or 'Unpublished'. It seems to be a grey area whether sharing online is considered as Published.

I'm still looking into this but so far I've seen the the US copyright office is reluctant to comment on this point.

So what is the opinion here? If some of my pictures were shared on Facebook and Instagram should I register them as Published or Unpublished?

The problem is that you don't really understand the meaning of the word publish.