I've lost again... because I'm not a pro

mmaria

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
When I got interested in photography or maybe even before that, I got also interested in graphic design. So I kind of know something about that too (something, I said)...

We (institution I mean, work) moved to a new building a month ago and new office signs and actually any other visual element needed to be redone. One of my tasks was to come up with something... I would bring my laptop (yes, laptop) to the office because of the Illustrator and I was working on old logo, new website, business cards, office signs and else... I had limitations such as "dark blue" "red" "gold" but I could choose shades (do you know how difficult is gold in design and printing?). I spent a fair amount of time just choosing the right color combination, fonts... etc etc

Somehow a Chief of a department (not mine department) got involved in the story and we started communicate over that, I would listen what he would suggest, explain him what can and can't be done. I would incorporate what he likes and such, we agreed about the way of numbering offices, floors... well... what happened?

Few days ago, out of the sudden he calls me in his office to look at a design for office signs someone (a company) did. They basically did nothing, the job was probably done in 5 minutes. Their blue background is "pen blue", their gold is lemon yellow. Font is Arial. Their design could be done in MS Office, even Word.
I told him my opinion in a nicest way and continued to work on my design.

He saw my design that day and told me that we can't use my font because professionals chose that particular font and there is a reason because of they did like that...there is a reason for their color and everything... he was lecturing me about something he has no clue but professional did it and that's enough for him.