TenaciousTins

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi y'all,

Lack of focus is not something that I am used to at all. Normally I can nail the focus almost every time. Today, I went out to a gorgeous location to photograph someone and when I went back to look at how the pictures were coming out, they all had missed focus. I was using a Canon T1i with the 55-250mm lens. I am new to this lens, but I used it at a birthday party last weekend and it was gorgeous. Today, I used it with a good tripod, spot metering, and perfect light conditions. And the focus ended up not on her face but elsewhere. Unfortunately, there was only about a 5 minute window where she let me take pictures and then she called it quits. I was a bit unsettled about it because I wanted to try to get focus and the light was so perfect but she is still overcoming her self-consciousness because she is a heavier chick so she'd had it for the day. Unfortunately, I won't get to reshoot because I am leaving to go back to the states on Wednesday and we are booked solid all the way through. So now I am stuck with very disappointing shots. I tried different shutter speeds and apertures but again I had literally 5 minutes. Here are a couple of examples:

4-14-17.jpg

4-14-2.jpg

Can you help me figure out what is wrong? We were going to go to a wild life park on Tuesday but now she is not sure she wants to take me because she thinks I'm going to get disappointing results since the camera doesn't seem to be focusing properly. I did try manual focus, but I am so bad at doing that, especially from a distance and when my subject is not standing still. I am just really sad...I wanted to cry because it was a "once a year" shoot and I screwed it up.