looking for a good camera for $600 maximum

fisburken

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Im new to photography, cameras and all this, and are looking for a good camera for a beginner, have $600 to spend on all the equipment. I am planning on taking nature photos and maybe some macro pictures. Im either buying a canon or nikon, but have no idea whats good and what I need, help me please :)

Film? Digital?

Compact? Bridge? DSLR? Mirrorless?

Crop sensor? Full frame?

Your question is far too ambiguous to answer. It's akin to asking "What's the best car I can buy for $$12,000? I plan on driving on the highway and in the city."

Nikon D5300 with its kit lens 18-55mm VR is a good start close to your price range.
If still too expensive the Nikon D3300 with its 18-55mm VR kit lens will be excellent too.

Id get a used d300 and the best lens I could afford with the remainder, personally. I understand why youd want a new body with warranties, but you can get more for your money used.

"What should I buy?", and, "How do I learn?", are the two most common questions on a forum such as this. Being the most common, they are also the most answered. And, though there are dozens of potential cameras to select from, the actual recommendations stay with a few in your price range.

Check the archives for more information from earlier posts which will be relevant to your needs/wants; DSLR vs Bridge Camera for my needs Photography Forum

There are really two parts to what you want.

You're not shooting action photography (sports, wildlife, etc.) so you don't necessarily need a camera with an advanced auto-focus system and extremely fast continues burst rate. That means you're in luck in that you don't need to spend more than $1000 on just the camera body alone -- all entry level bodies will be sufficient for your needs.