Looking for Advice on Setting up a Portrait Studio

dare2dream

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this site and see there's some great information on it :)
I was wondering if anyone could advise me on how to set up a Portrait Studio similar to the JC Penny portrait studio's?

I am an absolute beginner but enjoy photography and am thinking of it as a business.

I appreciate any help!

Sincerely,
D

First you need to check with your local authorities and see if you need special licenses for that type of business where its going to be located (always a fee for that), also zoning regs for the location. You may even have to do a site survey of surrounding business, structures, homes. Also have to describe your location including compliance with Disabilities Act. Need to decide on type of business it will be (Corp, LLC, D/B/A, etc). You will need insurance (equipment / liability minimum). If it will be just you or an immediate family member you can skip workers comp coverage. But if you hire anyone else you have to add that to your insurance coverages. You will need to get your Federal Tax id (and State Tax id). Of course you need equipment. Next you need to get the word out some how. So, some sort of advertising.

If you need a bank loan to start up, that opens up a whole big mess with hoops your going to have to jump through.

Almost every state has a small business admistration site online that will give you more detailed information. I would look that up for MA and dig into it. It's going to take a little leg work, and some initial cash outlay even before you open the doors!

Welcome to the forum!
I don't know anything about the business side of things, but Alien Bees would be an excellent choice for lighting. Also, make sure you have a sturdy tripod and a laptop to tether to for quick, large viewing.

HI ~