Looking for my first tripod

DrumsOfGrohl

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm new to photography, so I'm still discovering new styles of photography that pique my interest. I have a Canon Rebel T5, and my heaviest lens is the kit lens (total weight is about 22.38 oz. / 634g).

So far, I don't do any portrait work (but I'd eventually like to try it), but I've found myself wishing I had a tripod for landscapes, bodies of water, citiscapes, home photos, and long exposures. I've ended up trying to balance my camera on walls, or rocky floors, and I'm worried I'm going to end up scratching (or destroying) my camera without a tripod.

As cheap as possible would be my budget, but I don't want crap. I've seen some $40 dollar tripods online and on CL, but I know they're not going to last, or they wont support my camera much at all.
If I could get one under $100, I'd be happy, but I don't want to break $200.

I don't shoot in extreme cold, and I'd be okay if I couldn't use my tripod in very windy conditions. (I'll upgrade when I get to that point).

Any suggestions?

I'm new to photography, so I'm still discovering new styles of photography that pique my interest. I have a Canon Rebel T5, and my heaviest lens is the kit lens (total weight is about 22.38 oz. / 634g).

So far, I don't do any portrait work (but I'd eventually like to try it), but I've found myself wishing I had a tripod for landscapes, bodies of water, citiscapes, home photos, and long exposures. I've ended up trying to balance my camera on walls, or rocky floors, and I'm worried I'm going to end up scratching (or destroying) my camera without a tripod.

As cheap as possible would be my budget, but I don't want crap. I've seen some $40 dollar tripods online and on CL, but I know they're not going to last, or they wont support my camera much at all.
If I could get one under $100, I'd be happy, but I don't want to break $200.