Looking for some tips on low-light portraits...

mochroi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, as it goes on here, I am fairly new to digital photography. I am currently using a Canon T3 and have been setting a goal for each month. Unfortunately, I am really and truly struggling with this one. I have gone full manual, but wanted to know of some lighting techniques that could help. I have a ring light...but I think it's mainly for macro. Can this be used?

Portraits are usally not done with a light ring. Best advice on low light portraits.. is turn on more lights. You should also have a light to fill the shadows on the face.

A ring light is going to give you very flat lighting, with little or no shadow. Most portrait lighting techniques are all about how to create light and shadows, and how to control the transition between the two. The problem with a ring light, is that it's right on the position of the camera/lens. Some fashon photography is done with ring lights but it's kind of niche thing. It does give your subject interesting catch lights (reflection in the eyes) though.

the whole thing to the 'ring flash look' in portraits is getting the shadow halo around your subject (ie a thin ring of shadow on all sides around the subject). The only way to do this is to have the background very close to your subject (to the point where he or she is as close as possible to touching the background without actually touching it), so that you actually do catch their shadow on the background.

This is in direct contravention to everything you normally do for portrait photography, and as Big Mike said, is a very niche thing.

My studio has one booth where we sometimes do this look. Occasionally it really works well and can be truly stunning, especially on a model with strong features, but often it just looks weird.