looking to get into photography

JL08

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I've always been interested in photography and cameras, but didn't know where to start so I just googled photography forum and came across this forum. I'm a complete newb and don't know any terms or anything. I'm traveling this summer and would like to buy a camera before then for scenic photography and effects with lights and stuff like that. Any tips or help on what camera to buy would be nice. Thanks to whoever replies.

Do you want a point and shoot, or are you interested in a SLR?

Welcome.

The first step is deciding how much green you wanna spend.

To really get into photography i suggest you purchase a DSLR camera. This have interchangable lenses and a wide variety of setting that really let you get creative. Nowadays these can be had for as low as $450. I would HIGHLY consider one of these if you would like to take up photography as a new hobby.

I would suggest buying a film SLR (single lens reflex) camera and a long zoom for starters. You can pick up a Minolta XG-M or other X- series camera body and a MD mount 28-200mm macro zoom lens for about $100 if you time it right. No more than $130.00 USD. If you are going to do scenic/landscape photography, invest in a tripod. If you're going to be shooting action shots, get higher speed film (ISO 400 or greater). For dusk/pre-dawn or night photography, get a cheap flash. And get a good, simple book. Kodak produced a small 3x5 inch 100 or so page booklet on tips to improve your photography, or some such. Wanna really get into it deep? Buy Ansel Adams' book 'The Camera' and 'The Negative', about $22.00 each USD at Borders or Barnes and Noble. And, of course, come back here with ALL of your questions.

Just my personal recommendations. Have fun and welcome to the fold.