Macro general question

molested_cow

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
img24.photobucket.com
I brought home a Canon 100mm F2.8 macro lens along with a Rebel xti to play with this weekend. I am completely new to macro, only have shot a few with my friend's nikon 105mm macro once. I notice that lighting condition is very crucial. The shallow depth of field makes stability important too. Without mastering either, it will be worthless shots.

So tripod is almost essential. For nature macro shots of bugs and animals, how do you guys set up your shots? I am wondering this because I had a hard enough time trying to get a lizard to sit still on the tree, let alone setting up a tripod. Many of the shots I've seen here are bugs in the middle of doing something, like spider munching lunch or beetles mating, which means the bugs move. In this case, is it all on the flash, or is there some smart way to set up the equipment?

Or do you guys just kidnap the bugs and shoot them in controlled environment?

A macro can be used handheld ... even with small apertures.
I have used macros during the day @f/8+ while shooting bees, but generally on sunny days.

Yes, sometimes momentary relocation is used.
Some insects can stay stationary for long periods ... ie butterflies.

I tend to shoot non-moving objects, so I really cannot say much more.

Bright sun with 100mm f/2.8 and 550D I could get 1/640th, iso 100, f/7.1 at 1 to 1.
The lighting issue you refer to is effective aperture is aperture + aperture * magnification. A tripod is handy for setting up composition in some ways but without macro rails it can be more a hindrance.
I've found manual focus set to 1 to 1 then moving the camera back and forth is easiest.