Mark II vs. 50D info please :)

LisaMarie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all, i am new to the world of photography and am looking to purchase my first professional DSLR camera since my first enrty level camera a Rebel XT.

Right now i am undecided on the Canon eos 5d Mark II and the Canon 50D camera. I am currently looking into going back to school next year so i am undecided about whether i should invest in the Mark II for an additional 2 thousand as apposed to the cheaper 50D when it could devalue in price by the time i enroll in school (though i do figure i will still get plenty of use out of it until then).

I also am undeicided over the full frame addition. I like the idea of the full frame on the mark II, and i love the sigma 15mm fish eye lens i can use on it, however can i achieve a similar affect with the Canon 50D? And can somebody please explain how the full frame works, would it be just a difference of taking a few steps back to capture the rest of the image, and then just later cropping the top and bottom of the pic for that wide view look??

And lastly i love the higher mega pixels that the Mark II offers, i tend to do alot of creative cropping of my pictures, and i additionally hope to blow my pictures up to very large sizes and print them on canvas ( say possibly 4, 5 feet)? Would i really notice a difference between the 50D's 15 mega pixels as opposed to the Mark II's 21.1 mega pixels in these sizes??

If anybody could give me some advice it would be much appreciated, or any other general knowledge on these cameras!

Thanks ;)

If you are just starting out, I would get the 50D and once you have mastered that and feel that its limiting you, then upgrade. JMO

Welcome to the forum.

Full frame can be great but it does cost a lot more.