Maternity Shots C&C First time Please..

Kathryn4629

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, this is my first time photographing a posed person let alone a pregnancy! I dont really photograph a lot of people. If I do at all, I just do candid. I am pretty shy when it comes to photographing people. The woman is my cousin and she really likes my other photography (mostly landscape, animals, abstract, ect) and she wanted me to photograph her. That being said, I would love some advice and general C&C. I am going to do another session with her next week so I really would like some help on how to improve my photos!! Thank you so much for your time!!

Like: The general mood. Shadows on face and belly.
Dislike: Wish it was sharper. Composition?
DSCN8171.jpg

Like: Trees in the background. Belly? She really liked it.
Dislike: Composition, angle. I just cant put my finger on it.
DSCN8211.jpg

Like: The angle. Mostly I like that this was one the she really wanted to do, and was happy with it.
Dislike: Something about the skin color seems off to me.
DSCN8367.jpg

Like: I just liked the idea of this one
Dislike: The lighting/camera settings
DSCN8397.jpg

Like: I love this tree!!
Dislike: The blown out sky in the corner and that she doesn't seem to be highlighted/standout.
DSCN8418.jpg

They are all so dark, I know women can be miserable when they are pregnant, but I dont think thats what she wanted conveyed. Make them cheery. I dont like maternity pics anyway, but its supposed to be a happy occasion.

I dont like maternity pics anyway, but its supposed to be a happy occasion.

I don't either, but I gotta pay the bills somehow.

You know I agree. That must be part of the problem that I couldn't put my finder on. Thank you for the advice, I will keep that in mind.