Monolight Setup Prep

o hey tyler

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Okay, so through the grapevine I've found out that I am getting an Alien Bee's AB800. Having lots of experience with speedlights, I know how those work. I've had zero experience with studio flashes, so this is what I am unsure about...

If I am firing my 430ex's from my 5D using cactus triggers, I can set the AB unit to fire as a slave, correct? Therefore I don't HAVE to have it plugged in via the sync cord. Are there more limitations to firing via slave? For example, if it's plugged in via the sync cord, could I go above 1/200s for my sync speed?

If I wanted to, is there a way to fire the AB unit with my cactus triggers? Is there a hotshoe dongle that attaches to it?

I mainly just want to find out if I need to buy more receivers for my Cactus system, or if I will be fine with the two that I have for the 430ex's.

Thanks for anyone who can "shed some light!"

You can fire the AB's using the Slave Optical Sensor, The downside is the optical sensor has to SEE the light of the 430 and also the 430EX has to be in manual off the camera. If it were on Camera and in TTL mode the preflash would fire the bee prematuturely. Other problem can be using the Bee in bright sunlight because again, the optical sensor can get overloaded with sunlight and not see the trigger flash

Best is to fire both the bee and the 430 with Radio triggers, I beliive the cactus's also have a miniphone out you can connect with a short cord to the Bee' sync input. Most cactus come with the cords but you can also buy them at Radio Shack.

No you can't exceed sync even with a Bee