Moving on from bridge camera

Ganntak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,I bought a Panasonic Lumix Fz72 60x zoom (my 1st and only camera) after seeing the Nikon P900 long shots and thinking how cool it was. So got the Fz72 which I love. Problem is it's only 16mp and all the other bridge cameras I've looked at only go to 20mp.
So I've been thinking about a second camera. I love talking photos on the river of boats, birds etc and love that I can take some great long shots then as the boat gets near wind the focus in and still take close up photos. As a total newbie I'm confused about what kind of camera would be able to be used in a similar fashion. I heard the Nikon 3500 is great for beginners with 24mp but if I got a long lens is it like a telescope it'll just be focused really far away and I won't be get closer shots without swapping to a different lens? The 60x zoom is great for birds etc but what lens would be equivalent to that?

First...
Don't chase megapixels.

Its the glass that is the real crux of photography. The camera is something to hold the film/sensor.

You will want to research the concept of wide angle lenses and various telephotos.
Zooms are ok for what you want but learn about primes. A fixed 300 or 500 or 600mm will render far superior optics and images overall.

If your shooting on water or near it, polarizers, and ND filters are something you will want to learn about.
Water vapor can work for and against you at the same time. Giving you low contrast but if done correctly with misty effect.

The telescope aspect is something that you can do, but it really wont work for what you want.
The bird folks on the site can guide you on lens type.
100-500mm is typical. But there is also technique.
That comes with time.

Hello and welcome, I agree with what has already been said. Good luck.